Be a Supporter!

QuarlQuarl

Main News Movies Audio Art Favorites Reviews Stats 163 Fans
Follow Quarl

Contact Info / Websites

AIM
Ruqal

369 audio Reviews with Responses


Demon Crypt Demon Crypt

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 19, 2013

I could hear that sexy kit through that filter in the beginning. Nothing gets my heart beating like a good old fashioned 170-180 BPM DNB rhythm melting into a track. Track had a really airy liquid vibe to it. That bass/pads were a little lo fi/uninteresting to me but they reminded me of some of the old moving shadow mixes done by Calyx. Google: moving shadow 05.2 to see what I mean. Loved that mix :)

This tracks all about that up tempo rhythm and it feels satisfying. Love it!!


S3C responds:

thanks man...ahh I think I understand the similarities between Calyx, one of the first DnB artists I heard, in GTA3.


DV - Trauma DV - Trauma

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars August 8, 2013

hahaha, classy noises. Loved it. I just wish it went on for a bit longer. Short track.


la-yinn responds:

To be fair, I did want to continue on this one a bit further, a buddy of mine even freestyled some miraculous 'horror hop' lyrics to it when I played it back, but I lost the patches of the intro pads and the weird drop stabby things.. bit of a shame, but I've been working on lots of different stuff and this was a little bit of a joke anyways, there's some better stuff comin

thx for the comment :>


Realisations Realisations

Rated 5 / 5 stars August 3, 2013

At first I thought you meant "realizations." After learning that you can spell that word with either a "s" or a "z" I also learned that it has a musical definition. Fascinating.

Your piece has a way of morphing the beat a little each bar. Love it. Techy, krafty, dancy.At 3:04 your bass sounds like it seriously clips out the audio. Not sure what your intention was there but I'll assume it wasn't intentional. I had to listen to it a few times but all I hear is good ol fashioned too much bass distortion.

Good luck this round dude!


People find this review helpful!
InvisibleObserver responds:

Thanks for the words, and yea I'm a clever wordy-poops. The bass issue is basically a bass issue - I didn't have time in my schedule to mix this down, nor with the doodoo computer that rendered it out in half an hour to be able to spot fix things.

Probably a quick little EQ LP dip on a few channels will resolve the issue.

Luck to you too broheim.

Edit: Maybe worth noting, I wasn't being tongue in cheek with the title, only I worked on and embellished this piece. :P


Ape Tit Djuice Ape Tit Djuice

Rated 5 / 5 stars August 3, 2013

haha, gritty and grimy. Fucking love it. Dillenger meets meshugga meets uhhh... 4/4? dunno. My metal lingo is kind of bare these days but I was digging those syncopated riffs. The solo was water tight too. Coolness :)


Fleshbag responds:

:D Thanks!


A Storm Over Lavender Lane A Storm Over Lavender Lane

Rated 5 / 5 stars August 3, 2013

Loved that piano. I can hear that romantic influence. I never really got too into Debussy but chopins my dog. Really pro use of dynamics in those crechendos/decrechendos. This hits a really good smattering of emotions and themes. Good stuff :)


headphoamz responds:

Chopin Twins, UNITE! YEah dude, but glad you liked it, thanks for noticing the dynamics. Thing was a bitch to mix. :D


Electroboy Electroboy

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 28, 2013

Swwwwwwweeeeeet. Loved that ghenghis tron arsonists get all the electro metal vibe you had going. Wish I had some cans to listen in on. You metal heads typically care more about sound quality than EDM producers :/

Good luck in round one dude!


Lashmush responds:

Thanks! c:


Glitched Glitched

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 28, 2013

Laaaahv. Really intricate drum programing! Cool to hear you coming out with some IDM. You familiar with the flashbulb at all?


Sequenced responds:

thanks for the review :3

and no, but I will look them up.


Anaconda Anaconda

Rated 4 / 5 stars June 14, 2013

haha, saw Anaconda/ DNB and immediately thought it was a remix of an old API track.

Slick build up, sounds, amen break... wait... the track just ended. I was loving things but I kind of felt like the track never really climaxed. I can hear the work you put into it but I might have made the rhythms a little more exciting by playing with those drums more. Layer a few shakers in there/ throw in a few breaks to add excitement. A crisp clean kit is just the start. Those hats were just so...

:'C

My big thing with this track is just the fact that it builds so well. Why did the chorus feel so empty? On that note: I'ma go listen to API's Anaconda. Thanks for taking me back!!

(Sorry if that comes off as harsh but I really loved API back in the day. Go listen to his old stuff. Last I heard from him Spor featured him on the Lifted Podcast years ago. Now I can't seem to find him anywhere...)


Sequenced responds:

I guess this track isn't finished then! lol. and yeah, I named it anaconda because of the ending. that's what inspired me. :3


Veni Sancte Spiritus Veni Sancte Spiritus

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars June 14, 2013

Lovely piece! Judging from one of the last few reviews and the authors comments you don't need me to tell you about the dryness of the recording. Oh well. We've all had pieces with issues we were still incredibly proud of. I over look bigger issues in my own work all the damn time so I'd be a hypocrite to hold anbything against you. The track is still really well done, well written and well sung. Good job Trois!!


People find this review helpful!
Troisnyx responds:

Thank you. <3 While this is a cover, it's one of those pieces I hold to heart: when I first heard it, it was as if light rushed through my veins. Considering this is the Pentecost Sequence... justice or no justice done, I'm just glad and grateful to have sung it.


Star Bridge(Original) Star Bridge(Original)

Rated 5 / 5 stars June 13, 2013

I really like it dude! Those hats are high as fuck though. It's not often a mix is muddied up with thin sounds so much as I'm usually pissed off at how much bass things have. Actually, as someone who usually employs too much high end herself I'm kind of impressed. You mixing on earbuds?


People find this review helpful!
Warhector responds:

Thanks very much man! No, I mixed with Fame Studio Monitors and Studio headphones. It was not bad in my ears tho. Are you sure you are not using modified hardware/software? Else thanks for review :)